County Government

As an agent of the state, the Fayette County government serves the entire county in these ways: (1) through elected officials, it administers and enforces state laws, collects taxes, assesses property, records public documents, conducts elections, issues licenses; (2) through appointed boards and officials, it provides parks, libraries, sewers, emergency management, public assistance, and hospitals. As required by state law, county government also serves unincorporated areas by providing such purely local government facilities and services as highways, police protection, building inspection, planning and zoning. Elected county officials oversee most of these services.

Regular Meetings

  • 7 pm
  • The 4th Tuesday of every month
  • Kelley Criminal Justice Complex 
    705 Justice Drive
    Somerville, TN 38068

County Mayor

  • Rhea "Skip" Taylor

Commission Members

District 1: Somerville

  • Willie German, Jr.
  • Charles Dacus

District 2: Laconia

  • Ray Seals
  • Tommy Perkins

District 3: Gallaway/Braden

  • Elizabeth "Betsy" Rice
  • Bill Walker
  • Jim Norton

District 4: Oakland

  • David Webb
  • Kevin Powers
  • Tim Goodroe

District 5: Piperton/Rossville

  • Sylvester Logan
  • Claude Oglesby, Jr.
  • Ben Farley

District 6: Moscow/Williston

  • David Lillard, Sr.
  • Steve Reeves

District 7: Moscow/Lagrange

  • Larry Watkins
  • Jimmy Jordan

District 8: Hickory With/Eads

  • Robert Sills
  • Terry Leggett

Additional Information

To obtain more information, please visit the Fayette County Website.